Thank you for the space…

As I navigate all the complexities of being me – and there are a lot (more than there need to be…) I find myself so grateful for the people who accept me as I am. I also find that I need to remind myself to give them space to be who they are.

I often talk about my relationship with my husband and of course that’s normal because we spent a lot of time together, but this actually crossed my mind the other day in relation to people I work with.

I was having a day where I wasn’t approaching life with the grace that I would like to approach it with, basically I was super cranky.

And later when I was in my “time out” a.k.a. post work glass of wine I found myself reflecting on how much I appreciate that everybody just went about their day and didn’t react to my irritability.

Where this comes back to my husband 😉 is he pretty consistently shows up to support me, and works to meet me in the middle.

This is important because it would be easy to not recognize this for what it is – a gift of space, a gift to be who we are. And that expands outside our closest relationships when I think about patterns in general.

We get into patterns with people; spouses, siblings, parents, co-workers…”you push this button, then I push that button, then you push this button…” And next thing you know there’s a huge argument over taking out the trash or you’re absolutely not going to Thanksgiving if your sister is going to be there or Bob never take accountability for anything.

So for me I am very appreciative for the times where people in my life give me the space to “have my moment”.

Thank you to my friends who don’t hang up on me when I get snippy, thank you to my coworkers for staying focused on the topic not the tone, and of course thank you to my husband for excepting all of me as I am.

Every time one of you cuts me some slack, it inspires me to do the same for somebody else! Let’s keep being kind to one another whenever we are able and moment after moment we can help create the world we want to see. 🌻💞🌈

2 thoughts on “Thank you for the space…

  1. So nice….love this post!! ❤

    On Sun, Nov 21, 2021, 12:41 AM Wisdom of Friends wrote:

    > Rebecca Pate Huff posted: ” As I navigate all the complexities of being me > – and there are a lot (more than there need to be…) I find myself so > grateful for the people who accept me as I am. I also find that I need to > remind myself to give them space to be who they are. I often ” >

    Like

Leave a comment